Trains planes but no automobiles (or bikes)

Yesterday afternoon I was half-way through my first exam in I don’t know how long when Lisa stuck her head round the testing room door.

"Your wife phoned.  Get a hotel room in London tonight, she’s in a B&B."

An odd message.  Was she having an affair?  What about the kids?  I finished the Oracle exam (why yes, I did pass, thank you for asking) and phoned her back.  Grace’s school had closed for the day.  She had been trying since 11 am to get from the school in Maidstone to our house on top of the North Downs, a distance of 6 or 7 miles.  Bluebell Hill and the route via Snodland was blocked by snow.  I was not under any circumstances to try to bike home from London.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/kent/4313943.stm

But why had she and Grace booked a room?  Why hadn’t she gone to my bro Tony’s house in Maidstone?  He was in Leeds, most of his kids were at college, and his wife Tanya would be glad of the company.  Doh, she hadn’t thought of that.  Jonathon was next door with Peter, Jacqui’s bro.

OK, but I couldn’t just book a room in London.  My daily drugs were at home (what, you hadn’t guessed I am on medication?), and by the end of the day I was in severe need of a bath and a change of clothes.  So I walked to Cannon Street and bought a ticket home.  The ticket clerk told me the last two trains to Chatham had been cancelled, so it was a gamble.  As he said it the Chatham train was announced on platform 6.  A sprint got me on board, standing room all the way to Chatham, but no delays.

Then came the 2 mile hike uphill from the station to my house.  The snow was slushy.  Snow lying on water is a very slippery combination, and strains the leg muscles due to the unfamiliar walking style you have to adopt.  I got home with my ears very painful through cold, yet my body sweating with the exertion.

Jonathon was a little dissappointed that he wasn’t going to sleep over at his Aunt and Uncle’s.  The whole thing was an adventure for him.  "Home Alone 27:  This time it’s not funny any more".

This morning all the snow and water had frozen solid.  Very iffy walking back to the station, but this time it was all downhill.  Yet Strood, some 3 miles away, was completely clear of snow.  Go figure.  Train delays and cancellations all over the shop, but I was at work by 09:05.

Going to risk the bike tonight.  She’ll not know until I arrive back home.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

4 Responses to Trains planes but no automobiles (or bikes)

  1. Lisa says:

    in otherwords ur blog is cool LOL cheeky 🙂

  2. Neil says:

    If you do bike in that, you need the meds. (PS, I\’m medicated daily too) 😉

Leave a Reply

