Stress, what stress?

People have expressed surprise that I could be stressed.  Normally I am so laid back as to be near horizontal.  It helps that I love my job.  So the Luscious Linda decided to see how far she could push me.

The Lovely Linda, doyenne of Xpertise  sales people, landed a contract with Dell to train their people up on SQL Server.  Six weeks in May and June, a week at a time in Dublin, Stockholm, Amsterdam, Frankfurt and Montpellier.  Cushty.

This week Dell added a couple of little extras to the package.  As well as SQL, they wanted training in MOM 2005, a brand new product for which there is no training material yet.  And they also want training on their custom add-on that no-one has seen yet.  And they want it from mid-April.  And they want two days MOM training at each location over a three week period before they go for the SQL training later on.

With seven days ‘free’ time before then, with a presentation on the the new ADO features with Visual Studio 2005 to prepare, with no training materials, and in the middle of a training course in Maidenhead, I could do that, couldn’t I?

Fortunately Microsoft finally published their course material at the back end of last week.  Ian and Tracey re-arranged my schedule.  The travelling is going to be a little more hectic that I first anticipated, the prep time challenging, but I have found my quiet place again.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

