Montpellier

I arrived on Sunday to rain.  Where was all this sun I was promised?  The hotel has no restaurant, so more hitting the credit card.

Monday I walked to Dell.  It was drizzling by the time I arrived.  Waited from 08:00 till 09:00 for Eric.  He has been on holiday, but we still have 1/2 an hour to set up.  We start at 10, with the set-ups still running.

Tuesday the wheather changes and it is sunny and warm all day.  Eric told me 4 delegates would turn up.  We crammed 9 in.  In the evening I walked into the old town. From the river to the town there is a wide boulevard of maybe a mile.  It progresses in a series of round places and squares, flanked by impressive high buildings.  Occasionally they meet overhead in 50 metre arches.  The boulevard is littered with statues and columns, and fountains.  I am reminded of Hollywood scenes of ancient Rome or Thebes.  A hanging garden from one building has 50 feet vines.

Anf then I reached old Montpellier.  The town centre is closed to traffic.  The town consists of large places filled with cafe tables and winding streets overhung with balconies.  I spend a half hour sipping beer in the sunshine, then off to a wonderful Morrocan dinner.

I have toldmy wife I want to move here.  She has endured cold and rain all day and seemed strangely reluctant to listen to my tales of sun-filled luxury.

Today I say goodbye to Eric, an all-round nice guy.  I’ll toast my birthday at another cafe tonight, then off to Amsterdam tomorrow.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

