Holland

I had ordered a taxi for 07:45.  As I checked out at 07:30 the taxi driver arrived.  I was going to get to Dell a little early, but no matter.  As we started off I felt a little uneasy.  Something didn’t seem quite right.  I told the driver "The building I want on Kabelweg is the Dell building"

"You don’t want to go to the airport?  No problem, Kabelweg is on this road"

A conversation in Dutch on the phone.  Turns out he has picked up the wrong guest.  Never mind.

Erwen arrives about 08:00.  He shows me the set up.  Wonders upon wonders, the machines are set up just as we asked.  A first, and now I wonder what I am going to do with myself until class starts.  Erwen has the answer.  We start at 08:40.

The Dutch are a good crew, they have a lively and sarcastic sense of humour.  My kind of people.  A big thank you for lunch.

At 17:30 I order a taxi from reception.  I wait outside, then just check my jacket pocket for my passport.  Oops, other pocket.  No, it must be in the document pocket of my carry on.  Damn.  Is it inside the carry-on, tucked between folders?  Is it in the pocket of my shirt I was wearing yesterday?  Case searched on the street.  No.  By now I am sick with panic.  Some stuff fell out of my bag in the training room.  Maybe I dropped my passport there? 

I rush back to Dell.  The security guard cannot leave his desk.  No reply from Erwen’s extension.  He locates another security guy.  We check the room.  No passport.

Then I have a flash of memory.  Last night.  I put something in the leg pocket of my combats.  I remember velcroing (?) the pocket shut.  Was it my passport?  Back to reception, taxi now waiting, open the case, throw dirty washing across the floor.  It’s there!  Phew!  Shaking with relief.

It’s reassuring to know there are some universal constants.  The taxi driver complained all the way to the airport about immigrants coming into Holland, especially the Morrocans, nothing but trouble.

And so to bed

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

