A meal to remember

I have just had the most wonderful meal. 

It started when I wandered down to the bar for a pre-prandial beer.  The barman rattled off a string of beer names in very good English.  I stopped him mid-list.  If it’s not bitter I wouldn’t know a good foreign beer.  Lager is for girlies.  "What’s good?"

"Anything that’s not Swedish."  I realise that his English is good because he is in fact English.  He reccomends a Finnish beer with a malty taste.  It is not bad, for a girly foreign beer.  Rather strong, too.  I drink it in the atrium, a cathedral of a glass dome that is half the height of this 20 storey hotel and filled with a Koi pond, tropical vegetation and fountains everywhere.

One beer and it’s Ho! to the restaurant.  I choose the scampi and the venison.

Back home scampi and chips is staple pub food.  Frozen prawns in breadcrumbs are thrown straight in the deep fryer and usually served in that height of 70’s chic, a wicker basket.

This scampi was wonderful.  I didn’t realise it could be so succulent, so juicy.  Served with pitta bread and a hot sauce, I cleared the plate.

The venison I chose, just because I had never tasted it before.  The one reservation I had was that it was served with parsnip.  Root vegetables and I have a history.  The potato, that noblest of vegetables, I have a lot of time for in all its many guises.  But parsnip, turnip, swede, I fiind enedible.  I have tried them from time to time, in case my tastes have matured, but to no avail.  And as for beetroot!  Even the sight of beetroot stains on lettuce turns my stomach.

But this parsnip was cooked in a red berry juice, marinated so that the berry went all the way through.  It was gorgeous.  The venison was a little like beef, but much, much tenderer(?).  It too was in a berry sauce, but a savoury one.  I can’t believe how much I enjoyed eating it.  Not even a nip of parsnip was left over.  Usually when I stay a week in a hotel I pray that they change the menu frequently.  This week I’d be happy to keep it the same.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

One Response to A meal to remember

  1. Neil says:

    ok, that was one majical box of chocolates. If my Karma was that right I would be buying lottery tickets. But I need the NAME of the hotel.

Leave a Reply

