People are nice

Sometimes you hit it off with a stranger.  Sometimes the opposite.  But most people are worth getting to know.

We all think we are nice people, or at least OK, but then we are shown up.  Maybe by a Mother Theresa, maybe by an off-the-cuff remark.

I really appreciate Scott inviting me out for a drink this evening.  We had only met once before, last week in Sweden, both strangers in a strange land.  Yet he took the trouble to take me out for a bevy or two this evening, even though he has nothing to do with the training I’m delivering.  Would I have done the same if the roles were reversed?

Still having trouble with the local language.  There’s a local bitter called Rebel Red.  Not a bad beer at all.

I asked the barmaid for my third pint of Rebel.  She looked at me in amazement.  "You want a pint of Red Bull?"  Sure, and this is my second week here, too.  How do they know I’m English?

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

