Turning a frown upside down

Today’s class was due to start at 09:30.  At 09:45 I found Cameron.  "No-one’s turned up."  I eventually started at 10:05.  My class consisted of one student.

Before I even started he was asking "Why should I learn this product when there are so many other better products out there?  Why can it not do this or that?  I can do so-and-so with these tools, why would I need MOM as well?"

OK, I thought.  This is going to be a fun day.  Think of it as a challenge.

For the next hour I averaged about two sentences before he would ask another question.

Then suddenly I got it.  He was actually trying to find the answers to the questions his customers would ask him, or formulating strategies as to how to sell this to his management.  This turned the day around.  Normally I prefer larger classes to one-on-ones, something to do with the performer in me.  But this constant questioning and interaction was actually quite fun.  He turned out to be an enthusiastic student, so much better to the classes where you feel you are talking just to fill the vacuum.

Last day tomorrow, then on hols for a week and a half.  Champion.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

