Friday afternoon blues

Bloody Ryan Bloody Air!  I get to the airport through the horrendus Dublin traffic with over two hours to spare.  When the check-in opens I am near the front of one of the two queues.  Yes, of course I am behind a party of six who move with all the urgency and speed of continental drift.  Why is this an issue?  Seats are not allocated.  They ask the passengers with the lowest number boarding cards on first, and I am going to have to sprint off the plane at Gatwick to catch the train.  I want a seat with rapid access to the exit.

I get to the checkin and hand over my passport.  They needed my reservation number.  The nice girl at Gatwick had told me that I wouldn’t need that.  Ah yes, but at Gatwick they have these things called computers.  At Dublin they have a sheet of paper that has the reservation number, but not the passenger name.  I have to go to the ticket counter for my reservation number.

OK, I nip over to the ticket office.  No queue.  She scribbles the number on a scrap of paper one inch square.  I turn back to the checkin.  There is now a Disneyesque queue.  Eventually I get my boarding card.  To the Departure Lounge, Robin!

A few weeks ago there was a security audit at Dublin Airport.  It was apparrantly awful.  So now there is a queue bigger than the queue for Space Mountain, but no jugglers or clowns.  When I eventually get close to the bleep-bleep machine I have to take off my jacket, shoes and belt.  Standard procedure, apparrantly, but not for any of the other airports I’ve been to in the last two months.

My carry-on bag goes through.  The security man asks me to take my laptop out of the bag.  Bag and laptop have to go through again.  Standard procedure sir.  Well, no, it makes no difference to security, but it makes the queue nice and long, so it looks good.

And now the rassin frassin flight is delayed.  Sprint?  I’m not sure Linford Christie could make it to the train now.

And I am wearing my happy tie.  It has lots of big yellow smiley faces on it.  Spot the difference.

Oh great, now it’s been delayed again.  Now only Dr Who will be able to catch the train.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

One Response to Friday afternoon blues

  1. Lisa says:

    thanks for the comment in my space and just maybe i will send my chocolate to u! lol

Leave a Reply

