Amsterdam

Thursday

I wake to find a handful of loose change under the covers of my bed. I have no idea how they got there. Should I feel cheap?

I pack for my journey. It won’t fit in. In the end I have to unzip the expansion compartment in the lid. How is this possible? I have no more than what I came with. I can only assume that all the sweat that has been absorbed by my dirty laundry exceeds 1000 cc.

I go for a final walk around Montpellier. I settled down for an Earl Grey at a pavement cafe at the Place de la Comedie. You have to like a town who’s main square is called Place de la Comedie. There is an accordian player by the cafe. The accordian is a traditional backdrop to French cafe society. This is no excuse. I am strongly opposed to the death penalty, with the exception of accordian players.

Near the hotel I am accosted by a gentleman. In French he tells me that he is going to the airport. In French I tell him I am too. Do I know where the bus leaves from? No, but I have a taxi booked. He asked if I speak English. I turns out he is Irish. I invite him to share my taxi.

We check-in together. He is leaving on an earlier flight to me, to Orly. I am going to Charles De Gaulle. He insist on buying me a beer or two, and we chat about Ireland, England and Europe. A pleasant hour is passed in conversation, until his flight is called.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

One Response to Amsterdam

  1. moods says:

    hi i have recently opened a scottish forum as im living in england & missing home a wee bit and would appreicate if you would take a look & join up & if you know more scottish ppl please bring them along theres not many of us on here that i can find lol where are they all? msn spaces seem to be full of alot of nationalitys apart from scottish! thanks for your support joehttp://scottishwarrior.proboards45.com/index.cgi

Leave a Reply

