London – living on the edge

This morning I walked to the training centre, as I have each day this week.  It’s the only exercise I get.
 
At about 0740 as I walked I phoned the Missus to tell her I loved her before she took #1 sprog to school.  (Yes, I know I set impossible standards for you other guys, but I’m a romantic).  I don’t normally call in the morning.  She was concerned.  What was wrong?
 
"Nothing.  I just wanted to tell you I love you, that’s all."
 
About 10 o’clock we heard about the bombs.  The classroom is 150 yards from Moorgate, the site of one of the explosions.  How terrible if we had had angry words, and I had caught the tube.  We don’t appreciate the good things we have nearly enough.  If we are unfortunate to lose them, then it’s too late to appreciate them.  Go hug someone today.
 
The caterers couldn’t get to the building, so I nipped out for sandwiches for the class (all accounted for).  In M&S (All the while there is an M&S somewhere, selling sandwiches and sensible knickers, the sun will not set on this sceptred isle) many other people seemed to be in the same situation. But there were no cross words, we all queued (we are British, after all) with no complaint, and apart from no transport anywhere, life goes on much the same as it did yesterday.
 
Sadly today’s events are not that novel in London.  We have suffered several decades of bombings aimed at civilians.  As a 10-year-old I was considered a legitimate military target because we lived in a flat over the Conservative Club.  It is somewhat ironic that we are now targetted because of our affinity with the USA, when the the previous bombings were in part financed by misguided Americans.
 
I fear that this will be used as an excuse by Emperor Blair.  The spiral continues.  Of course these evil bombers must be resisted at every turn, but if this prompts draconian measures it will end up polarizing and strengthening the resolve of the very ones we want to defeat.
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

