Sleep deprivation

Someone in the street has a car alarm.  I know this because at 0200 this morning it went off.  (English is a curious language.  Why do alarms go off when they quite clearly go on?).  It sounded for 30 seconds, then went off again.  A minute later it sounded again.  Then 10 seconds later.  It was still going off at 0800 this morning when I went to work.
 
It wouldn’t have been so bad if it went off and then stayed on (See?  That sentence would make no sense in any other language).  It might have been bearable if the interval was consistant.  But every time it stopped I knew it was going to start again.  I just didn’t know when.  Sometimes it was 10 seconds of silence.  Sometimes we were treated to a full minute before it started.  The suspense kept me awake.
 
Er Indoors kept going to the window to try and locate the offender, but couldn’t.  At 0400 I could take no more and I went to the window.  I failed to locate the car, but did notice that the fan sash window was open.  When I confronted Her about it, She said that She didn’t think closing the window would make a difference.  What the blood and sand did She think double glazing was for?
 
But by this time it was too late.  I couldn’t get back to sleep, and now my brain was aware of it, I could hear the muted alarm even through the double glazing.
 
When I left at 0800 it was still sounding.  The … gentleman who owns the car had parked it in his garage with the door open, making an impromptu megaphone of his garage to better share the experience with the street.  Bloody, bloody, bloody people!  Why am I the only civilised person on this planet?
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

One Response to Sleep deprivation

  1. Eric says:

    this makes sence, an alarm going off/on/whatever (indeed) and no owner going to do a checkup on his/her car. this alarm could as well be disabled…..

Leave a Reply

