ASA Lambrini ruling

The Advertising Standards Agency have rejected a  Lambrini advert for using an attractive man to promote drinking by women.  Their ruling contained an absolutely outrageous statement.  "We would advise that the man in the picture should be unattractive – i.e. overweight, middle-aged, balding etc,".
 
 
Well, Mr ASA, I have sent you a letter:-
 
Dear ASA,

I am normally a very laid-back, calm individual.  It takes a lot to irritate
me.  But your ruling on the Lambrini adverts has outraged me.  I am all for anything that promotes responsibility in social behaviour, especially in
drinking.  It is your attitude to me that offends.  Particularly the quote
"We would advise that the man in the picture should be unattractive – i.e.
overweight, middle-aged, balding etc,".

I think you will be hard pushed to find anyone that does not think me
absolutely gorgeous.  Even straight men have been tempted.  If I was not
happily married I could be ecstatically single, thank you very much.  Oh, by the way, I am a tad overweight, 48 years old and bald.  Your comments are offensive in the extreme.  The advertising industry has often been condemned for reinforcing stereotypes, but your blinkered and shallow attitude is much worse, as you are charged with overseeing the industry.

And just how do you explain Sean Connery repeatedly being voted on of the worlds sexiest men?

(OK, I would be a tad pushed to explain that as well, but I’m sure you get
my point)

I trust that in future you will not have such a narrow opinion on what is attractive.  And I’m sorry, but any hopes you entertained of taking me out
on a date have been severely dented.

Regards

Bob Simms
Extremely attractive,overweight, middle-aged, balding etc

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

