First night nerves

Silly, isn’t it?  I’ve trained all sorts of courses in all sorts of places.  Sometimes I have had to wing it, knowing nothing about what was awaiting me, other times I have been confident of the same old, only to be surprised when I get there.  But this is the first time I have suffered so much from nerves.
 
Maybe it’s a combination of things.  I have never been to Greece before, I only know two or three words, and they do not use the Roman-style alphabet.  Even the maps I have are in funny Greek squigles.
 
It’s a new course, for Visual Studio 2005, which is still in beta.  Phil delivered it last week, the first time it has ever been delivered.  It was not an easy five days by any stretch of the imagination.
 
I wrote the labs for the last two days (which Phil didn’t have time to do, so they remain untried).  So I have no-one to blame but myself.
 
Some of the delegates are from Microsoft, others are from various countries, not just Greece.
 
The DVD’s that arrived from Microsoft are unreadable, so I will have to set up the class on Monday at 7:00 am.
 
So no pressure.  Deep breaths.  Find my centre.  Go over the slides yet again.  Hide in a large glass of port.  Have to leave the house at 06:30 tomorrow.  Will I sleep at all tonight?  Look on it as an adventure.  The sort that makes you promise that you’ll lead a much better life, if only you can survive until Saturday. 
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

