Athens, day one

Well, here I am in Athens, cradle of Western Civilization (or was that China?).
 
Last night nerves got the better of me.  I was awake at 03:30, up at 04:30, unable to sleep.  We left the house at 06:30, plenty of time.
 
I kept tradition by forgetting something on the trip.  This time it was my tie.  There didn’t appear to be a Tie Rack in the departure lounge.  Boss sold ties for £42.  I was thinking more along the lines of £4.20.  Tie Rack had moved to gate 32, half a mile away.  So I trudged there in my painful new shoes bought yesterday, then trudged back.  £8 plus blisters seemed reasonable in comparison.
 
I was given an aisle seat by the emergency exit, no sciatica problems for me!  The flight was delayed by 20 minutes, but no big deal.  The crew were helpful enough, the food OK and the wine decent enough for aircraft fare.  I don’t know why people whine about Olympic.
 
I decided to be brave (and cheap) and caught the metro to the city.  It’s difficult navigating when not even the letters are the same as back home.  For a couple of stations I thought they were all named the same, until I realised it was Greek for ‘Exit’.
 
The hotel is big, I have a stunning view from the 8th floor of the wall 20 metres away. 
 
I’m now waiting for Dimitris’ call, to see if we are going out to dinner.  We’ve never met, but we are compatriots in the Secret Brotherhood of Microsoft Certified Trainers.  I shall try out my Greek on him.  Both words, if he’s lucky.
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

One Response to Athens, day one

  1. jj says:

    Yasu, Bob! Have a good time while in Athens. Ask Dimitris to take you to Plaka — it used to be the disco area in the early 70s. Steep hills, strong drink, beautiful women, you know the norm. \’-)Enjoy the ouzo and souflaki! (my spelling has gotten so bad in Greek… ago protemo tis patates t\’rani tez.)–jj–

Leave a Reply

