The Road to Riyahd

Wednesday night I was up until 01:00 am burning dvd’s for Saudi, having spent the most of that day and the previous two days prepping for the IITT presentation.  Thursday it was up at dawn and ho! for Maidenhead.  There a very nice man videoed my presntation and training session for the IITT panel.  And then viedeoed it again.  And again.  By the end I was heartily sick of myself, never mind what the panel would think.
 
Then by train to Feltham.  I was well and truly knackered by then.  I stumbled down to the restaurant and one of the best steak dinners I have ever had in a hotel, then to bed by 20:30.
 
At 03:30 I got my wake-up call, taxi ride at 04:00 and at Heathrow by 04:15.  The queue had already started for checkin.  Behind me stood three fitness trainers who were off to work a cruise boat in the Carib.  One of them had an extremely penetrating voice.  I was relieved when at 04:45, as the queue was inching forward, the call went out for anyone that was just checking in with hand-luggage.  Woo-hoo, queue-jumped to the front and bagged an exit seat with extra legroom.
 
We sat on the tarmac for half an hour, and then at Frankfurt we were put in a holding pattern.  My neighbour on one side was concerened that he was going to miss his connection home.  On the other side was another passenger destined for Riyadh.  We were happy we were going to make it, but there were doubts as to whether his luggage would.  (hehe, hand-luggage only, me).
 
10 minutes to spare and I was on the plane to Riyahd.
 
At the airport I was met by a man with a sign and into the biggest car I have ever ridden in.
 
The hotel is amazing.  You need a map to get around.  I have found the three swimming pools, two of the restaurants, the 10 pin bowling alley, the tennis courts, the barber shop.  I have yet to walk around the 9-hole golf course.
 
To enter it you have to pass the security gard that checks the car for bombs, wait for the bomb-proof barrier to be lowered into the ground and manouver through the chicane of concrete barriers.  I feel nurtured and important.
 
The course started today.  A mixed group consisting mainly of non-Saudi arabs.  A nice bunch who for the most part are keen to chat at break.  I’ve warmed to them.  Lunch was huge.  Kebabs, nan, humus, salad, smoothie, chips, the works.  The plane is going to struggle taking off on Wednesday.
 
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

