Karma

A funny thing, karma.  What goes around, comes around.
 
Many years ago I worked in a large store.  Often I was the only male in the staff restaurant.  At such times the chief topic of conversation was my ulcerative colitis.  One woman in particular used to love taunting me and seeing how long it would take to get me to blush.
 
A few months later she was struck down with the very same complaint.  I took a whole day just preparing the colitis sufferer’s welcome pack (plastic pants, sign for the toilet door, puzzle mag to while away those ours sat in the smallest room, etc).
 
You’d think I’d learn.
 
Some of you may recall when I bought a new car, and within three weeks Er Indoors had scraped it.  There has been the odd reference to it since then, but only when it could be used to humourous effect.
 
Yesterday I took our old fridge to the recycling centre.  The recycling centre (or ‘dump’ as we knew it in our youth) is for domestic use only, so they have a bar of metal across the entrance to prevent high commercial vehicles entering.  Strangely, they have just the same bar over the exit as well. 
 
I single-handedly man-handled the fridge out of the back of our hatchback.  A job well done I jumped back in the car and hurried back to home and hearth.  As I left the recycling centre there was an almighty explosion.  I had left the tailgate open.  So now our car is on the drive, awaiting collection so that the rear gate can be replaced.
 
I have promised Her that I shall never mock her again.
 
Ever.
 
Though the outfit She has decided to wear when I take Her out to lunch today is sorely going to test my resolve.
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

