Ouch

Coming in to work this morning.  Sub-zero temperatures.  Passing a line of stationary cars in the city a BMW bike pulls out in front of me to do the same thing.  I braked hard.  The front wheel locked.  I hit the tarmac.  Hard.
 
As I lay there I was winded, a dull pain in my hip and shoulder where I had made contact with the road, I fought for breath, then made a mental inventory of my body.  It didn’t feel like anything was broken.  I opened my eyes.  My glasses had steamed up.  When I took them off I saw a patch of grey sky ringed by helmetted faces.  Biker code.  Comrade down.
 
I got up, a little sore, and more than a little sick.  My bike!  Helpful bystanders pushed it to the side.  Where was the damage?  A slight scuff to the pannier and a scrape to the crash bar cover.  That’s all?
 
We exchanged details, the BMW biker surreptiously showing his Institute of Advanced Motorists bag as we did so.
 
As I rode off I realised that the gear pedal was slightly out of position.  Some slight effort with metal bar should sort that out.  Later I realised the crash bar was slightly bent, but nothing to write home about.  All in all pretty much scot free.
 
But I’m wondering for how long I am going to keep this up.  I’m getting too old for frozen mornings and boy racers.  I begin to envy the train commuter, wrapped up warm in his carriage, book open on his knees, dozing peacefully into Cannon Street…
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

