You win some, you lose some

Last night was the IITT awards.  The Missus, the Xpertise directors and I all turned up at the Dorchester.  The waiters were from the para-military wing of the catering corp, dressed Sergeant Pepper-style, and hitting the tables in squads of 6, placing the plates down in sync.  At the end as coffee was being poured, I asked without much hope "Can I have a cup of tea?"
 
"Certainly sir.  What sort of tea?"
 
How professional is that?
 
As expected, I didn’t win Trainer of the Year, but we didn’t want the silly trophy, anyway.
 
So I got home this evening, and there was a package waiting for me.  Months ago the Independent reviewed The Meaning of Tingo and offered a competition for new words.  I heard nothing and forgot about it, though Er Indoors nearly bought it for me at Christmas.  I won, apparantly, and now have a copy of the book and a rather smart £50 Cross fountain pen.
 
How cool is that?  So that’s turned my frown upsidedown.
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

