The story so far

The story so far …
 
Open-cast pit carved between my ribs now healed (wince, grimace, no, It’s nothing, I’ll struggle on).  Shoulder still a tad stiff, but almost better now.  Bike written off, money going towards train fares (I’m too old to bounce).
 
Okay, the recent news:
 
Last Monday I bought a bike.  No, not another motor bike, the Missus would have a fit.  Instead I bought a pedal bike from Cycle King.  Since my unfortunate close up of the A2 I have been catching the train into London.  Chatham station is a couple of miles from my house, which meant a half hour vigourous walk each way.  Now I can cycle.
 
We went to Halfords first, but they couldn’t be bothered to serve us.  Unlike the excellent staff at Cycle King, who talked through my needs and recomended the bike best suited to my needs.  They even customized the grips to suit my large hands (steady, girls) and replaced the quick-release saddle with a bolt-on one (It’ll be nicked from Chatham station, otherwise, you mark my words).
 
So last Monday I cycled to the station.  Fantastic!  A half-hour walk now is hardly more than five minutes.  This is mainly because I live on top of the North Downs, and the railway is at the bottom.  Bloody hell, the journey back, though!  True, it’s reduced to twenty minutes, depending on the number of strokes I have on the journey, but I am soaked in sweat by the end.  Five baths in a week!  Can you believe it?  To add insult, I didn’t lose any weight this week either (my maybe-it’s-diabetes diagnosis diet so far having lost me a stone and a half).
 
But the bike is back in the shp for a quick service as the gears bed in and other technical stuff.  Meanwhile I am on site in Hemel Hempstead for two weeks.  No restaurant open tonight, but they have free wireless.  Yes, I have my priorites sorted, thank you.
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

