Berlin Monday

Training is a funny old business.  We are all show-offs, eschewing real work for the razzamatazz of performing in front of a class.  Techies are by nature keen to share their knowledge.  Combine that with an ego the size of a country and you’d normally not want more than one IT trainer in any gathering.

 

So you’d expect three hundred trainers crammed together to be hell on earth, with fights breaking out as we all vie to be the centre of attention, but I’m looking forward to the Microsoft Certified Trainer Summit in Berlin.  I have many e-friends in the MCT community that I’ve sparred with in the newsgroups and chatted with via MSN.  It will be fun to see what they’ll be like in the real world.  ‘Fun’, you understand, being a relative term.  I’ve only ever met half a dozen of them of them, and their friendship and generosity have been welcome, especially when I’ve been on the road.

 

I’m a little apprehensive as to what they’ll make of me, though.  It’s easy to be witty on a newsgroup where you’ve a day or two to formulate your off-the-cuff riposte.  I hope I don’t disappoint in the flesh.

 

As well as train-the-trainer type sessions there will be lots of previews of upcoming technology.  My interests will be SQL and Visual Studio, but 2008 looks like being a busy year all round for Microsoft watchers, with major releases raining down on us.  So I’m going to be busy, busy, busy, and not carousing the night away with new friends.  No, that’ll be someone else that just happens to look a lot like me.

 

The lucky git!

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

