Berlin2

Monday 14/01/08 – 07:45 – Near Berlin
 
Brussels was a dismal station to be marooned in.  All the cafes closed at 21:00.  At 21:30 I found a waiting room that was out of the way of the wind and the beggars.  At 21:50 we were turned out and it was locked up.  At 23:00 I made my way up to the platform, a dreary grey concrete affair with no shelter from the wind.  I was not sorry to see the train pull in at 23:40.
 
I found my couchette easily enough.  It was a six-berth, though only four had been made up.  I had told my darling wife that of course the carriages were segregated, but in the event I was to share the cabin with two others, a young man who had obviously travelled couchette before, and a middle-aged woman.  We followed the young man’s lead and made up our bunks and wordlessly tried to sleep.
 
My head brushed one wall, while the balls of my feet rested on the window.  The ceiling was a couple of feet above me.  Anyone who has a fear of being buried alive should reconsider if couchettes are the way for them. 
 
The carriage was like an oven. I sweated through the journey, and awoke at 05:30 dry-mouthed and stuffy.  I had slept, if fitfully.
 
The first stop in Berlin is Spandau.  I know I should be thinking of the cold war and the imprisoned Nazi war criminals, but all I can think of is Spandau Ballet.  There goes my street cred.
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

