Berlin, still

Berlin 16/01/08 – 11:45
 
Wow, what a long couple of days it’s been.  Yesterday I got to sit in on a load of technical presentations.  Lots of cool stuff coming in SQL.  I sound like a 12-year-old geek, don’t I?
 
Lunch was nice in the atrium, then more presentations.  People here are just so friendly, and they laugh at my jokes.  Well, be fair, they haven’t heard them before.
 
Then we went on an evening bus tour of Berlin.  Ruth and Claudia kept our section of the bus entertained.  To be honest, we couldn’t see much from the bus, but we did get out at the Brandenburg Gate.  It is huge, much bigger than I imagined.  And Checkpoint Charlie, which was fun.
 
Then back for dinner, laid out in a magnificent hall.  The various rah-rah’s from the organisers and sponsors, and then I got my zune!  Double Yay!  Finally.  I had to pretend to like Rick all day until I got the zune in my hands.
The girls on the table thought it much smaller than they imagined.  Don’t they know that size doesn’t matter?
The entertainment for the night was a looky-likey.  Actually, not so much.  A Sting impersonator didn’t look much like him, but sung well enough.  Then the most bizarre Tom Jones impersonator ever.  I think it was Tom’s dad.  He looked and sounded nothing like him, but he had a curly wig on, so that was OK.
 
Oddly, we failed to drink the budget dry.  Equally oddly, I ended up on the girly table again.  Jolander invited me up to her room.  I was slightly disappointed to discover she also invited about a dozen others as well, but we all put the world to rights, as drunks the world over do in the small hours of the morning.  I have an invite to contact her next month when I’m in Amsterdam.  I hope she remembers me.
 
I hit my bed about 2:00 this morning, wishing I had once more re-written my presentation for Richard Klees.
This morning I staggered down to breakfast, then went over my presentation over and over again.  Then four of us made the long walk down the green mile.  In the event, it was fun.  What doesn’t kill us, and all that.
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

