Purple Heart

With all the quiet grace and subtlety
Of helicopter gunships you bore down
And shattered my defences as I stood
Bemused and unprepared upon the ground.

I hid my heart below the canopy
Of cool detachment where no-one could see.
Your cloud of Agent Orange looks and smiles
Stripped bare my hiding place beneath that tree.

I cried for you to spare me, but you knew,
In order to defend me from my hell,
You had to raze my village of despair
And build a city fit for us to dwell.

You were my patron saint and devil too.
I blessed and cursed the night your war began.
Now you have other men to fight and love
And I’m alone, no more a family man.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

