I have seen

I have seen a man bare-fist a grizzly,
Roar and claw and bite just like the bear.
Chased it up a tree and screamed defiance,
Challenged it to face him if it dare.

I have seen a man brought low and weeping.
Weak and meek, and trembling like a leaf.
Terrified to hold his new born baby,
Overturning all his old beliefs.

I have seen a lake by a volcano,
Stream a-steam and bubbling from the heat.
Boiled an egg and ate it on the shoreline.
Heard the hiss where rock and water meet.

I have seen the sun drown in the ocean,
Bled the reds and golds into the sea.
Felt the desert winds caress the evening,
Saw the foreign stars wink down at me.

I have seen compassion in a killer.
Heard a word that’s true come from a mayor.
I have seen the devil in an angel.
I have seen a legislator care.

I have seen the world and all its wonders,
Sights you might not deem could yet be true.
I have seen the best that it can offer.
I still see them all when I see you.

   
About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

