It’s a funny old business, writing.  I originally took it up to pass the time whilst stuck in nameless hotels on the edge of nowhere, with long evenings of lone drinking beckoning.  And it is a very selfish act.  I write now on the train and in hotels.  At home my family deserve my attention (even if it’s not always appreciated).

But the Interweb is a curious thing.  Through it I’ve found fellow addicts and we form support groups.  They are the antithesis of AA meetings.  Here the theme is to encourage each other to write more, not less.

 Even in the cutthroat atmosphere of competition a reluctant camaraderie prevails.  I’m through to the second round of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards.  Only this morning my friend Paul IMed me to ask about my progress.  Which is all well and good, and though greatly appreciated, is only to be expected from a friend.  But last night I was emailing a fellow competitor, a rival, a fellow Brit who has also made it through.  We were exchanging tips and good wishes in the competition.  True, I’m sure both of us were wishing ourselves a little more luck than the other, but even so.

 So why don’t you drop by Ray Sullivan’s place and peruse his books?  After you’ve bought mine, of course.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

