Nerves on PDT

So, the quarterfinals of the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Awards are announced today.  In the adult category 5,000 hopefuls entered.  The second round knocked that down to 1,000.  Today that will be further reduced to 250.  So anyone reaching the quarterfinals could be said to be in the top 5 percent of the entries.  I’m much more emotional than I should be.  I shall erupt with joy if I make it.  I will weep real tears if I don’t.  What makes it worse is that the competition offices are based in Seattle, a full seven hours behind jolly olde Englande.  That means, if somebody is on the ball, I have to wait till four this afternoon.  Or later.  I leave the office today at 6:30.  What if the results aren’t announced by then?  Jeez, what happens if they wait until close of day Pacific Daylight Time?  That will be way past my bed time.  I just want it to be over.

So, today my body is on GMT, but my nerves on PDT.

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

6 Responses to Nerves on PDT

  1. snodlander says:

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!!!!!

    Made it!

  2. My heart races violently every time I see your name on a list…because the next one should be mine…if it’s not…darn. Thankfully, once more it was. Congrats! And here’s to seeing our names together on the next list!

    • snodlander says:

      Thanks Allison and howdy neighbour

      My heart races every time I see a woman’s name, but them I’m a perv. Here’s to being neighbours, but you know, don’t you, that if we’re still together at the finals we’ll be deadly rivals instead.

  3. Hey – Just wanted to pop in and say congrats. Mine didn’t go so well, but I’m glad to see you moved on. Now it’s up to you to represent the Sim’s of the world!

    • snodlander says:

      I’m touched, thank you very much. How wonderful of you to take the time for the note. Sorry to be no longer on top of you, so to speak. I had given up on mine, and so was stunned for an hour, and then the tears started.

Leave a Reply

