The morning after

Well, here we are, the morning after the night before the quarter finalists were announced for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.  Not only did I make the cut, but the two reviews I’ve received in the competition were fair (the weaknesses were legitimate questions, even if they contradicted each other) and complimentary.  Looking at the aftermath on the forums this morning many are complaining that their reviews consisted of a fair one and a blistering condemnation.  Maybe I was just lucky in my reviewers.  Perhaps I have had so many reviews in the past for my stories (both good and bad) that the criticisms weren’t personal.  Maybe the grapes were picked just a tad too early.

Anyway, I’m chuffed to bits.  I even dreamed about my book being reviewed last night.  Why exactly a publican would write a review on the fence of the beer garden is a mystery, as is his references to Santa, who as far as I recall was not in my book.  Still, it made sense at the time.  In the next day or so my first 5000 word excert will be made public on Amazon, and I hope to garner many more reviews. 

Now the wait begins anew.  22nd April is when the semifinals are announced.  You know the trend in competition TV shows now when the MC says, “And the winner is…” (dramatic music, 30 second pause)?  Imagine that over 5 weeks.

As Er Indoors said, “It’s like Get On The Bus all over again.”

About snodlander
Snodlander is the nom de plume of Bob Simms. He is an IT trainer, but it's not as glamourous as it sounds. When he's not enthralling classes with adventures through SQL Server, he writes, draws and drinks his own home-brew. Buy his novel on Amazon Kindle at The Young Demon Keeper, It's 74p, for crying out loud!

Leave a Reply

